The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne is back!

The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne is back!


The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IIFM) is the southern hemisphere’s greatest annual celebration of the Indian cinema. The celebration of Indian cinema will take place from Thursday 1 to Friday 11 May.

Here are the nominees for IFFM Awards 2014:-


Irrfan Khan : The Lunch Box
Farhan Akhtar : Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Raj Kumar Yadav : Shahid

Deepika Padukone: Goliyon ki Rasleela Ram-Leela
SonakshiSinha : Lootera
Nimrit Kaur : The Lunch Box
Kangana Ranaut : Queen

RakeyshMehra : Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
RiteshBatra : The Lunch Box
Anup Singh : Qissa
Anand Gandhi : Ship of Thesus

Goliyonkirasleela Ram-Leela

Ship Of Thesus
The Lunch Box 

From thriller to comedies, arthouse to musicals, The 2014 IIFM will be screening and celebrating the best work of the Indian contemproray as well as classical cinema.

With Vidya Balan as the face of the IIFM, 2014, the festival will present five international awards, adding an exciting competition element to the program while celebrating and recognising the diversity and craft of Indian cinema.

A selected number of narrative feature films will be invited into competition. Judged by an International Jury of prominent Indian and Australian film industry, IIFM figures a wide range of backgrounds. The extremely talented stellar list includes award-winning Australian director Phillip Noyce (Rabbit Proof Fence, Dead Calm, The Quiet American); world renowned Australian film editor Jill Bilcock (Strictly Ballroom, Elizabeth, Moulin Rouge, Red Dog and Shekhar Kapur’s upcoming Paani) and 2013 Gold Jury member for the Mumbai Film Festival;celebrated Indian film maker , Raju Hirani ( Munnabhai MBBS , Lage rahoo Munna Bhai and 3 Idiots ) Indian actress, producer and television presenter Simi Garewal; Rajeev Masand, one of India’s most respected film critics (The Indian Express, Star News, CNN-IBN, GQ India), and Indian actress, director, writer and producer, Suhasini Maniratnam. In Australia, this will be the first Indian cinema awards of its kind.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.