State Finance Ministers of India visited Australia for GST

State Finance Ministers of India visited Australia for GST

GST has been one of the priorities for the Modi Government and is often viewed as one of the economic game-changers in India.  On GST, India has a lot to learn from Australian experience. As in Australia, GST is engaging the minds of our political leadership, economists and business persons and is currently being discussed in parliament.  The effort of the Government is to work with State Governments to evolve a consensus.

In this connection, a delegation of 13 State Finance Ministers and their representatives including from Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, UP, Andhra Pradesh visited Sydney from 27-30 September 2015.


During their visit the delegates met Hon Mike Baird, Premier, Hon Gladys Berejiklian, Treasures and Hon Stuart Ayres, Minister for Trade. The delegation was also briefed on GST by Mr Blair Comely, Secretary Department of Premier and Cabinet and Dr Ken Henry, former Secretary to the Treasury.


The list of Delegates:


Government of NCT of Delhi


Shri Manish Sisodia, Hon’ble Deputy Chief Minister/Finance Minister


Government of Andhra Pradesh


Shri Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, Hon’ble Finance Minister


Government of Haryana


Capt. Abhimanyu, Hon’ble Finance Minister


Government of Himachal Pradesh


Shri Prakash Chaudhary, Hon’ble Excise & Taxation Minister


Government of Madhya Pradesh


Shri Jayant Malaiya, Hon’ble Finance & Commercial Taxes Minister


Government of Punjab


Sardar Parminder Singh Dhindsa, Hon’ble Finance & Planning Minister


Government of Rajasthan


Shri Rajpal Singh Shekhawat, Hon’ble Urban Development and Housing Minister


Government of Tamil Nadu


Shri M.C. Sampath, Hon’ble Commercial Taxes and Registration Minister



Government of Telangana


Shri Eatela Rajender, Hon’ble Finance & Civil Supplies Minister


Government of Uttar Pradesh


Shri Biresh Kumar, Principle Secretary, Commercial Taxes


UT of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli


Shri Sandeep Kumar, Development Commissioner/Secretary (Taxation)


Government of Kerala


Dr. Rajan Khobragade, Commissioner, Commercial Taxes


Government of Uttarakhand


Shri Dilip Jawalkar, Commissioner of Commercial Taxes


Government of Gujarat


Dr. P. D. Vaghela, Commissioner, Commercial Tax


Goods and Services Tax Network


Shri Navin Kumar, Chairman (GSTN)


Empowered Committee of State Finance Ministers


Shri Satish Chandra, Member Secretary


Government of India


Smt. Rashmi Verma, Special Secretary, Department of Revenue

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.