New Chair and Deputy Chair to lead ANSTO Board

New Chair and Deputy Chair to lead ANSTO Board

28Prominent businessman Mr James McDowell has been appointed the new chair of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) board.

Mineral and petroleum industries business expert, Dr Erica Smyth, is the board’s new deputy chair.

Announcing the appointments, Industry Minister Ian Macfarlane said both had already made valuable contributions to the ANSTO board as deputy chair and member respectively.

“Mr McDowell’s extensive experience in innovative businesses both in Australia and overseas, and as a board chair and member, will position him well to chair the board of ANSTO, Australia’s only research organisation devoted to nuclear science and technology,” Mr Macfarlane said.

“Mr McDowell’s background includes over 35 years working for multinational defence, security and aerospace companies. He is a keen supporter of higher education and has strong connections with the university sector.

Dr Smyth is a scientist and a businesswoman who has a wealth of experience in senior executive roles in the resources sector.

“I am delighted that Dr Smyth has agreed to continue to serve on the ANSTO board and take up the deputy chair position,” Mr Macfarlane said.

“Since becoming a member in 2008, Dr Smyth has made a strong contribution to board deliberations including chairing the board’s Risk and Audit Committee. ANSTO will continue to benefit from her strong corporate governance experience.”

These appointments come at an important time for ANSTO with construction of the high-tech ANSTO Nuclear Medicine facility, which will supply important nuclear medicines.

“Mr McDowell’s knowledge of international marketing and collaborative ventures will support ANSTO to capitalise on the significant opportunities that the new facility provides,” Mr Macfarlane said.

“I congratulate both Mr McDowell and Dr Smyth on their appointments as chair and deputy chair and I look forward to their continued contribution to ANSTO as a global centre of excellence in nuclear science and technology.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.