nsw-mp-0039-brad-hazzardMinister for Family and Community Services, Brad Hazzard, today announced the appointment of five new Board members to the Aboriginal Housing Office, and welcomed new Chair, Mrs Leah Armstrong.


Mr Hazzard said the Aboriginal Housing Office, which advises the NSW Government on Aboriginal housing policy, is tasked with creating suitable housing for Aboriginal people.


“Ensuring every Aboriginal person in NSW has equal access and choice in affordable and culturally appropriate housing is the key focus of the Aboriginal Housing Office,” Mr Hazzard said.


“Increasing secure, good quality housing is an important way of reducing the gap in Aboriginal disadvantage.”


The new Board members are highly skilled Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with a wealth of expertise to improve housing responses for Aboriginal people in NSW.


The new Chair, Mrs Leah Armstrong, has extensive experience on Boards and committees across the government and community sectors, including appointments to the Prime Minister’s Indigenous Advisory Council and National Commission on Indigenous Housing, Indigenous Business Australia, The Smith Family, CareerTrackers and the University of Sydney. She has also served as the CEO of Yarnteen Ltd and Reconciliation Australia and is the current Board Chair of Supply Nation.


Mr Hazzard acknowledged the work of outgoing Chair, Ms Michelle Craig, and her dedication to improving housing outcomes for Aboriginal people of NSW and strengthening relationships with stakeholders at both state and national levels.


Aboriginal Housing Office Board membership:


Leah Armstrong, Anthony Ashby, Damien Bidjara-Barnes, Neva Collings, Mayrah Sonter, Craig Taylor, Wendy Morgan, Guy Jones, Gavin Brown, Beverley Manton.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.