Australia India Business Council appoints first woman National Chair

Australia India Business Council appoints first woman National Chair

The Australia India Business Council Ltd (AIBC) has announced the newly elected National Chair, Ms. Sheba Nandkeolyar and National Vice Chair, Mr. Jim Varghese based on votes from AIBC members in an election concluded on 17 June, 2016. Ms. Sheba Nandkeolyar is AIBC’s first woman National Chair.

Ms. Nandkeolyar and Mr. Varghese acknowledged the significant contributions of the former National Chair, Mr. Dipen Rughani during his four year tenure, particularly for his work with the recently concluded ‘Engaging with India Conference 2016’. The newly appointed National Chair and National Vice Chair also expressed their eagerness to continue AIBC’s valuable work towards growing Australia-India relationships for industry, businesses, government and AIBC members.

Image1Commenting on her appointment, Ms. Sheba Nandkeolyar said: “I am excited and honoured to take on this new role as National Chair, and look forward to driving the delivery of many ambitious programs for the Australia India Business Council. With the Indian economy growing faster than any other major nation, at approximately 8 percent, and with the upcoming Australia-India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement discussions, the time is ripe to forge newer business links and promote further investments between India and Australia.”

Mr. Jim Varghese, Vice Chair, Australia India Business Council added: “In the coming years, the Australia-India trade relationship will be central to the future of both nations in the broader Asia Pacific region and the global economy. I look forward to working with Ms. Sheba Nandkeolyar and the leadership team of the AIBC to bolster even closer economic, cultural and business ties between Australia and India.”

Ms. Nandkeolyar will replace outgoing National Chair, Mr. Dipen Rughani, and will be succeeded by Mr. Jim Varghese as National Vice Chair.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.