Stronger Councils | Stronger Communities

Stronger Councils | Stronger Communities

Stronger Councils | Stronger Communities

The Minister has announced that he will proceed with the formation of the following councils:

Armidale Regional Council (Armidale Dumaresq and Guyra)

Canterbury-Bankstown Council (Bankstown and Canterbury) Central Coast Council (Gosford and Wyong)

City of Parramatta Council (P’matta and part of Hills, Auburn, Holroyd and Hornsby)

Cumberland Council (Auburn and Holroyd) Edward River Council (Conargo and Deniliquin) Federation Council (Corowa and Urana) Georges River Council (Hurstville and Kogarah) Gundagai Council (Cootamundra and Gundagai)

Snowy Monaro Regional Council (Bombala, Cooma Monaro and Snowy River) Hilltops Council (Boorowa, Harden and Young)

Inner West Council (Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville)Mid-Coast Council (Gloucester, Great Lakes and Greater Taree) Murray River Council (Murray and Wakool)

Murrumbidgee Council (Jerilderie and Murrumbidgee) Northern Beaches Council (Manly, Pittwater and Warringah)

Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council (Queanbeyan and Palerang) Snowy Valleys Council (Tumut and Tumbarumba)

Western Plains Regional Council (Dubbo and Wellington)

Subject to the decisions of the courts, the Minister has announced his in principle support for the following mergers:

Botany and Rockdale

Randwick, Waverly and Woollahra

Bathurst and Oberon

Ku-ring-gai and Hornsby

Mosman, North Sydney and Willoughby

Blayney, Cabonne and Orange

Hunters Hill, Lane Cove and Ryde

Burwood, Canada Bay and Strathfield

Shellharbour and Wollongong

Merger Proposals Pending

Newcastle and Port Stephens

Dungog and Maitland

Armidale-Dumaresq, Guyra, Walcha and Uralla

Merger Proposals not proceeding:

Berrigan and Jerilderie (part)

Kiama and Shoalhaven

Boorowa and Young

Manly, Mosman and Warringah (part)

Cootamundra Shire, Gundagai and

North Sydney and Willoughby


Palerang (part) and Queanbeyan

Corowa, Lockhart Shire, Urana

Pittwater and Warringah (part)

Dungog and Gloucester

Tamworth and Walcha

Goulburn Mulwaree and Palerang (part)

Hawkesbury and The Hills (part)

Jerilderie (part) and Murrumbidgee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.