• Awards recognise excellence in the public sector

Premier Colin Barnett today launched the 2016 Premier’s Award for Excellence in Public Sector Management.

“This year marks the 20-year anniversary for the awards and they showcase and reward the most outstanding initiatives, extraordinary achievements and quality services delivered across the State,” Mr Barnett said.

“The awards are also an opportunity to celebrate the increased collaboration and partnerships formed across the sector to provide the best outcomes for Western Australia.

“I encourage all State Government agencies, local government authorities and public universities to consider putting forward a nomination in one of our seven categories this year.

“WA is home to some of the most amazing, diverse and collaborative bodies of work that are leading industry standards and celebrating world-class achievements.”

The seven award categories reflect the Government’s vision and direction for the public sector in the current social economic environment.  The award categories are:

  • Developing the economy
  • Improving Aboriginal outcomes
  • Improving government and reducing red tape
  • Managing the environment
  • Revitalising the regions
  • Strengthening families and communities
  • Western Australia in Asia.

“The Premier’s Awards were established in 1996 and continue to grow and stimulate highly innovative displays of creative leadership that leads to better service for the Western Australian community.  The awards have become the backbone in acknowledging excellence in public sector management,” the Premier said.

Details of past winners and finalists are available at

Fact File

  • Nominations close Friday, April 29, 2016
  • For more information about the Premier’s Awards, email or visit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.