New road safety commissioner for WA

New road safety commissioner for WA

th (1)The State Government will appoint a new Commissioner of Road Safety as part of a major shake-up of road safety governance in Western Australia.


Road Safety Minister Liza Harvey said the Government would immediately start to implement recommendations from the Review of Road Safety Governance in Western Australia, or the Browne Review.


Mrs Harvey said changes were needed to ensure that the increased funding available to road safety initiatives would deliver reduced trauma on the State’s roads.


“Western Australia’s road safety governance structure is nearly two decades old. It has not evolved to reflect the significant increase in funding provided by this Government’s decision to transfer 100 per cent of speed and red-light camera infringement revenue to the Road Trauma Trust Account,” she said.


“I am confident that the new Road Safety Commissioner will provide a fresh outlook and robust leadership to achieve further reductions in road trauma in our State through safer roads, enforcement and education.


“Today’s announcement further demonstrates this Government’s strong commitment to road safety as we continue to implement the Towards Zero Road Safety Strategy 2008-2020.”


Other significant recommendations to be implemented include:

  • replacing the Road Safety Council with the Road Safety Advisory Council and expanding its membership to include vulnerable road users and regional representation
  • introducing a road safety experts panel to provide guidance on Road Trauma Trust Account submissions, policy advice to the commissioner and serve on the new Road Safety Advisory Council.

The commissioner will report directly to the Minister and assume responsibility for the implementation of the recommendations of the review. The Public Sector Commissioner is currently working to establish the position and recruit a person to fulfil this role.


It is anticipated that an interim commissioner will be in place by July 1, 2015, to oversee the establishment of the Office of the Commissioner for Road Safety.


The Minister thanked Office of Road Safety executive director Iain Cameron and staff, Road Safety Council chair Murray Lampard and council members for their dedication to road safety.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.