Flying colours of the ‘Khalsa Volleyball Club’

Flying colours of the ‘Khalsa Volleyball Club’

This year both the junior (U/19) and senior Khalsa volleyball teams had tremendous results in the State Volleyball League (SVL) – premier volleyball competition in Sydney.  This competition was held over the months June – September 2015 at Homebush.

The junior Khalsa volleyball team finished on first place after the round robin series.  They easily won their semi-final defeating Sydney North 3-0.  The final was against Hills Dragons (comprising of 4 junior state players) – this was a very competitive match.  With the Khalsa juniors leading 2-1, the Hills Dragons clawed their way back into the match.  The final was tied at 2-2 but unfortunately the juniors went down 3-2 to the Hills Dragons in an epic struggle in the final.

The Khalsa junior volleyball team has won the silver medal for the last 2 years in this elite competition.

The senior Khalsa volleyball team competing in Division 1 easily won their semi-final over Syd Uni 3-0.  Their final was against UNSW, who narrowly defeated the Khalsa team 3-2 in the thrilling final to win the silver medal.

A special recognition needs to be made for Arshdeep S Dosanjh (19 yrs) who is currently in the Australian Mens Volleyball Squad.  Arshdeep started his volleyball with his father – Jaskaran S Dosanjh at the Khalsa Volleyball Club.  Over the last 4 to 5 years, he has worked incredibly hard and shown tremendous courage and dedication to reach this elite level.

khalsa2Caption: The team comprising of Jaskaran S Dosanjh (manager), Jashan S Padda (2, 17 yrs), Arman S Dosanjh (7, 13 yrs), Rajkavar S Khakh ( 6, 17 yrs – MVP), Jaspartap S Tiwana (8, 16 yrs), Kirpal S Pooni (coach), Sanchit Gupta (1, 15 yrs), Kundan S Pooni (3, 15 yrs), Benrose S Bhangal (9, 14 yrs).


khalsa1Caption: The senior team comprising of (standing L-R) – Jatin Ghandi, Jaskaran S. Dosanjh, Rajkavar S Khakh, Darshan Singh, Gagan S Sidhu, Satwinder S Dhaliwal, Gurlal S Pooni, seated (L-R) – Kundan S Pooni, Amandeep S Dhaliwal (MVP), Rajwinder S Sandhu.


khalsaCaption:  Arshdeep S Dosanjh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.