Fan favourites locked in for KFC T20 Big Bash League

Fan favourites locked in for KFC T20 Big Bash League

KFC T20 Big Bash LeagueFan favourites have returned for this season’s KFC T20 Big Bash League and will line up alongside new international and local faces after team squads were finalised today.

There’s entertainment to cater for every taste with a strong mix of talent locked in across all squads following the end of contracting today.

Danger game-breakers will take the field for the league’s third season including Aaron Finch (Melbourne Renegades), Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars), Dwayne Smith (Perth Scorchers), Shaun Tait (Adelaide Strikers), Lasith Malinga (Stars), Luke Pomersbach (Brisbane Heat) and the world’s greatest wicket-taker Muthiah Muralidaran (Renegades).

The BBL’s Mike McKenna said the league’s balance between attracting the world’s best short-format specialists, while continuing to offer opportunities for the next generation of Australian talent, contributed to the success of the league.

“Each team has attracted a depth and diversity of talented cricketers who will excite fans across the country,” McKenna said.

“In any given match, fans will be treated to a wealth of high-quality and highly competitive international and next generation talent.

“In two seasons we’ve seen young players like James Faulkner, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Kane Richardson emerge to become cricketers fans want to see. There will also be a number of exciting new faces to watch this season, all striving to make their mark on the national stage.

“These young talents will be guided by retired Aussie greats like Mike Hussey, Brad Hodge and Brad Hogg who make their return to domestic cricket; as well as international superstars like Daniel Vettori, Ravi Bopara and Tillakaratne Dilshan.

“There’s entertainment on show for everyone and we’re thrilled fans will be exposed to the action like never before through free-to-air television coverage for the first time on Network Ten and our new radio broadcast rights agreement with Fairfax Radio Network,” McKenna said.

The roll-call of talent across the league lends itself to a close competition and opening batsmen are again expected to be the barometer of their team’s success. Last season, the top four run scorers were openers and players like Aaron Finch (Renegades), Michael Klinger (Strikers), Rob Quiney (Stars), Nic Maddinson (Sydney Sixers) and No. 1 ranked T20I batsman Alex Hales (Strikers) will be looking to power their team into finals contention.

Hales joins the English invasion to our shores this summer with nine Brits signed to a BBL team. Another 11 international players from South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will also don BBL colours.

It will be a tight battle between bat and ball and partnerships between fast strike bowlers and spinners may prove the difference. Each team fields danger fast and slow bowlers, including Kane Richardson and Jon Holland (Strikers); Doug Bollinger and Xavier Doherty (Hobart Hurricanes); and Nathan Coulter-Nile and Michael Beer (Scorchers).

Last season, slow bowlers proved to be the hardest to put away and made up 3 of the 5 most economical rates, while run chases were largely dependent on death bowlers with nerves of steel.

Fans can take advantage of the exceptional value on offer to see the big games, the big stars and the big hits when the league starts on Friday 20 December 2013 and throughout the summer holiday period. Ticket prices start at $20 for adults, $5 for kids and $42.50 for a family.

Click here for an in-depth analysis of finalised BBL squads.

BBL|03 Team Contract Lists Snapshot:

  • ·         62 former or current Australian international representatives
  • ·         41 former or current Australian Test representatives
  • ·         20 International (non-Australian) Players
  • ·         #1 ranked T20I batsman in the world – Alex Hales (as well as 3 of the top 5)
  • ·         #1 and #2 ranked T20I all-rounders in the world – Shane Watson and Mohammad Hafeez
  • ·         2013 IPL highest run scorer – Michael Hussey
  • ·         2013 CLT20 Player of the Series – Dwayne Smith
  • ·         The greatest wicket-taker in Test history – Mutiah Muralidaran
  • ·         12 former or current international captains: Johan Botha, Daniel Vettori, Shoaib Malik, Cameron White, Shane Watson, George Bailey, Mohammad Hafeez, Brad Haddin, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Eoin Morgan, Tillakaratne Dilshan
  • ·         English invasion: Alex Hales/Strikers, Craig Kieswetter/Heat, Luke Wright/Stars, Owais Shah/Hurricanes, Jos Buttler/Renegades, Michael Lumb/Sixers, Chris Tremlett/Sixers, Eoin Morgan/Thunder, Chris Woakes/Thunder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.