Election Commission transfers four officers in Odisha

Election Commission transfers four officers in Odisha

25Bhubaneswar, April 4  The Election Commission has transferred four senior officers, including three district collectors, in Odisha following complaints against them by the opposition parties, an official said Friday.

The district collectors Niranjan Sahu of Khurda, Ratnakar Rout of Kendrapada and Shyam Sunder Nayak of Nabrangpur have been replaced respectively by Shalini Pundit, Nitin Bhanu Das Jawale, and Mohammad Sadique Alam, an official of the state chief electoral office here told IANS.

Also, Deputy Inspector General of Oolice Southern Range) Amitabh Thakur has been called back and the post based in Ganjam district’s Berhampur has been given to Inspector General of Police (Crime Branch) Sushant Nath.

The moves come a day after representatives of opposition parties, including the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party, accused the officials of violation of Model Code of Conduct and lodged complaints with the poll panel.

Elections will be held simultaneously April 10 and 17 for the state’s 21 Lok Sabha and 147 assembly seats.

The transfers were effected to ensure neutrality and offer level-playing field to all political players, the state poll official said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.