Barring one seat, BJP wave in Braj Mandal

Barring one seat, BJP wave in Braj Mandal

47Agra, May 16 (IANS) In the tidal tsunami generated by the Modi wave, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates Friday trounced their rivals in Agra, Fatehpur Sikri, Mathura, Hathras and Aligarh by decisive margins.

Only Firozabad saw Samajwadi Party candidate Akshay Yadav emerging victorious, defeating last-minute defector to the BJP fold, S.P. Singh Baghel.

In Agra, BJP’s Ram Shankar Katheria trounced BSP’s Narayan Singh Suman by more than two lakh votes. The Aam Aadmi Party candidate got only 5,841 votes.

In Fatehpur Sikri, a traditional Jat area, Amar Singh of the Rashtriya Lok Dal, Seema Upadhyaya of the BSP and Pakshlika Singh of the Samajwadi Party came a cropper as BJP’s Choudhary Babu Lal secured 265,680 votes.

In Mathura, it was Hema Malini all the way. Jayant Choudhary of the Rashtriya Lok Dal bit the dust by a margin of more than three lakh votes.

Both Hathras and Aligarh went to the BJP, with its candidates recording wins by huge margins.

Poll pundits see the BJP victories as a blow to caste and vote bank politics.

“The BJP was expected to do well, but the results have surprised everyone. So clear cut and decisive has been the rout of the BSP and the Samajwadi Party that the humiliation suffered will take a very long time to be digested,” said senior media person Rajiv Saxena.

Samajwadi Party’s national general secretary and a former minister in the Chandra Shekhar government Ramji Lal Suman suffered a massive defeat in Hathras at the hands of BJP’s Rajesh Kumar Diwaker.

The blow to the father and son duo of Rashtriya Lok Dal’s Ajit Singh and Jayant Choudhary has shattered the myth that the Jats of the region were solidly behind them, they being the heirs of Choudhary Charan Singh.

“This is the first time the Jats of the region have ditched the party. But this could perhaps be the fallout of the Muzaffarnagar riots,” said a party leader from Fatehpur Sikri.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.