Applications open for Premier’s Science Awards

These awards play an important role in recognising and celebrating the achievements of the Western Australian science community,” Mr Barnett said.
Since 2002, the awards have acknowledged the role and impact of the State’s leaders in science.
Honourees have included Professor Peter Quinn, founding director of the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research; Professor Mark Randolph, a world-leading scientist specialising in developing geotechnical solutions for the offshore oil and gas industry; and, most recently, Professor Ian Small, whose work has built global understanding of how plants capture, store and release energy – vital information for sustainable agriculture production and food security.
The awards also recognise the important initiatives and activities that encourage community participation in science and inspire younger people to pursue careers in science.
“Providing opportunities to engage and educate children in science and turning young people on to science is vital for our future scientific capacity,” the Premier said.
For the third year running, the awards are proudly sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil and Woodside. Mr Barnett thanked the sponsors for their continued support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.