The Chief of Air Force, Air Marshal Leo Davies, AO, CSC today congratulated personnel on their achievements towards advancing air power.

“Our annual awards seek to recognise our personnel and their talents, while also advancing our knowledge, appreciation and history of air power,” Air Marshal Davies said.

“I thank everyone who took the time to enter these prestigious awards, and congratulate the winners from a competitive field.

“With literature, art, essays and academic fellowship awards, there are categories to appeal to a range of personnel and their interests.

“The broad range of entries and topics shows the passion from our people in advancing air power in their chosen fields of work or interest areas. For example, this year’s Chief of Air Force Essay Competition attracted 23 entries, across Army, Navy, Air Force and Defence public service staff.” Air Marshal Davies said.

First Prize
Sharon Bown, Collateral Damage: A Nurse’s journey through peace and war in the Royal Australian Air Force.

Second Prize
John Macdonald, Shades of Blue:  The Uniforms and Insignia of the Royal Australian Air Force, 1921 to the Present.

First Prize
Christopher Taylor, Loading for Iraq (Leading Aircraftman Ryan Douglass tying down cargo).

Second Prize
Drew Harrison, Global Outreach (Boeing C-17A Globemaster III).

Peter Helson for Biography of Air Vice-Marshal William Dowling Bostock CB, DSO, OBE.

Chief of Air Force Essay Competition
First Prize
Lieutenant Colonel Mark Mankowski’s essay discusses the success of air power in the World War II joint campaign in Burma and it highlights the importance of leadership, innovation and adaptation in achieving air power effects and air-land integration.

Letter of Congratulations
CAF selected Ms Lea Zeestraten’s essay on ‘6th generation aircraft and the fifth domain’ to receive his letter of congratulations. Lea is a logistics graduate working at the Tactical Fighter Systems Project Office in Williamtown.

Media Note:
Further information on the RAAF Heritage Awards can be found at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.