Andaman and Nicobar Islands votes

Andaman and Nicobar Islands votes

12Kolkata, April 10 (IANS) Polling began Thursday for the lone Lok Sabha constituency in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, a picturesque archipelago of 572 islands situated in the Bay of Bengal, officials said.

There are 257,856 voters in the union territory. Voting started in 386 polling booths at 7 a.m.

There 15 candidates in the fray. The main contenders are sitting MP Bishnu Pada Ray of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Kuldip Rai Sharma of the Congress and Sanjay Meshak of the Aam Aadmi Party.

Interestingly, 12.75 percent of the electorate is in the 18-25 age-bracket.

In the 2009 elections, the BJP garnered 44.21 percent of the votes and the Congress 42.86 percent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.