2015 Victorian International Education Awards Finalists Announced

2015 Victorian International Education Awards Finalists Announced

Victoria will celebrate the contribution of international education to the State at next month’s prestigious Victorian International Education Awards, with 22 international students from 13 countries announced as finalists for their outstanding commitment to the sector.

First held in 2013, the Awards celebrate Victoria’s largest services export by recognising the exceptional accomplishments of international students and innovative education institutions, companies and service providers.

Minister for Training and Skills Steve Herbert said the Awards support the international education sector, promote best practice and recognise the benefits that international education brings to the Victorian community.

International Student Award winners will receive a scholarship of $10,000 to contribute to their studies in Victoria, while the recipient of the ‘Premier’s Award – International Student of the Year’ will receive an additional $10,000 towards their studies.

Five local Victorian students were also nominated as finalists in the new ‘Victorian Student of the Year – Internationalisation’ category, for their efforts in actively supporting the engagement of international students with the broader Victorian community.

The winner will receive a prize of $5000 towards their studies, and an additional $5000 to support an initiative that can build connections between domestic and international students in Victoria.

All student award recipients will also become ambassadors of the Victorian Government’s Study Melbourne initiative and help promote the State as a leading international education destination.

Victorian International Education Award 2015 winners will be announced at the official Awards Ceremony in November 2015.

The Andrews Labor Government is committed to transforming Victoria into the Education State and international education is a key aspect of that.

160,000 international students enrol to study in Victoria each year. International education generated $5.3 billion in export earnings in 2014 and supports over 30,000 jobs, making it Victoria’s largest single export sector.

More information about the Victorian International Education Awards can be found at www.studymelbourne.vic.gov.au.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Training and Skills Steve Herbert
“International education is a vital part of Victoria’s economy and these awards will help showcase the fantastic results that can be achieved from studying at a Victorian university or vocational education provider.”

“The Victorian International Education Awards are about recognising the achievements of the international education industry and cementing Victoria’s standing as an international education destination.”

“I congratulate all of our finalists in this year’s Victorian International Education Awards, and I look forward to celebrating your accomplishments at the official Awards Ceremony in November.”

Student Awards – finalists

International Student of the Year – English Language Training

 Charlie Shin, Impact English (South Korea)

 Doanh Nguyen, Ozford College (Vietnam)

 Goktug Sezer Garip, Impact English (Turkey)

 Jirayut Prompen, Monash University English Language Centre (Thailand)

 Taylor Valai, La Trobe Melbourne (Samoa)

International Student of the Year – Vocational Education & Training (VET)

 Iyiade ‘Hybee’ Aibinu, Box Hill Institute (Nigeria)

 Joseph Kierulf, Chisholm Institute (Philippines)

 Lai Poh Lee, Sunraysia Institute of TAFE (Malaysia)

International Student of the Year – Higher Education

 Fang Xuan Koay, The University of Melbourne (Malaysia)

 Kai Jie Lim, The University of Melbourne (Malaysia)

 Mustika Indah (Nina) Khairina, Monash University (Indonesia)

 Withitaporn (Anne) Sangprakong, La Trobe University (Thailand)

International Student of the Year – Research

 Ashrafalsadat Hosseini, The University of Melbourne (Iran)

 Heba Zahid, Monash University (Saudi Arabia)

 Jessica Pandohee, RMIT University (Mauritius)

 Lemuel Lopez, The University of Melbourne (Philippines)

 Wanamina Waehama, Victoria University (Thailand)

Victorian Student of the Year – Internationalisation

 Danny Ong, Monash University

 Joslyn Ma, Monash University

 Siamak Loni, Monash University

 Tiffany Nicholas, Deakin University

 Wesa Chau, Swinburne University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.